Baptiste Grison

Les Grands bateaux attendent (no 8)

2017

Photography

Original work
20.32 x 20.32 cm

Share this work:
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest

Location

144, Rue Lindsay, Drummondville

Description of the work

With the series Les Grands bateaux attendent, artist Baptiste Grison delves into what he considers an anomaly in the seascape of the St. Lawrence River. A few kilometres off Trois-Pistoles and Les Escoumins is a stopover for the colossal merchant vessels from around the world that drop anchor at night and then disappear as mysteriously as they materialized.

Through the lens of a spotting scope, Baptiste Grison captures ships waiting to moor. His rudimentary photographic process muddles the images, adding to the enigmatic character of these apparitions in the river waters.

Is it a dream? The ship seems to be floating through the air, as the horizon, sky and river meld and slip away in an optical illusion.

Baptiste Grison

About the artist

Baptiste Grison lives and works near the St. Lawrence River, in Bas-Saint-Laurent. In the course of his meanderings, he maintains a dynamic relationship with the landscape: “The landscape is an experience of space […]; you have to live it.”

Active since the late 90s, the artist holds a master’s degree in visual arts from Université Laval and a degree in art history from Université de Rennes II – Haute-Bretagne (France). His work has been featured in a number of solo and group exhibitions in France and Québec, as well as in various publications, exhibition catalogues and his artist book, Fatima (2017). Baptiste Grison’s practice has also served as the guest curator of exhibitions, including the Rencontre photographique from (2013 to 2015).

Artistic approach

Active gaze

Baptiste Grison explores spaces that intrigue him—those that may seem trite but, to him, are wholly unique: a virtual border cutting across the river where cargo ships pause (Les Grands bateaux attendent), a national conservation park on which tourists are increasingly encroaching (Citadelle) and an Indigenous reserve in the heart of a streamless forest that was never actually occupied by First Nations people but continues to survive on maps (Les Barricades mystérieuses).

Experimenting with the photographic medium, he surveys sites like a geographer through a conscious ambulatory practice, gradually taking in what he sees and absorbing the space. These intent observations give way to a narrative he communicates through photos.

Baptiste Grison enjoys serial work. To him, an image can’t be worth a thousand words. Indeed, the combination and confrontation of different images create the story.

In his own words: “The huge vessels wait right across from where I live. I don’t see them come; I don’t see them go. I simply notice that one disappeared into the night or, on the contrary, appeared. Lying at anchor, often pointing west and flying the flag of Nigeria, Greece or Malta, they wait days and sometimes weeks. Through the lens of my telescope, I observe them and say to myself that someone must be busy doing something aboard. Filipino, Pakistani, Ghanaian? But never any silhouettes on the deck. Then I think back to the sailors bored to death on the Pytheas, Gerasimos and Diamandis in the Nikos Kavvadias novel.”

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

Baptiste Grison

Les Grands bateaux attendent (no 8)

2017

Photographie

Œuvre originale
20,32 x 20,32 cm

Partager cette œuvre :
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur pinterest

Emplacement

144, Rue Lindsay, Drummondville

Description de l’œuvre

Avec sa série Les Grands bateaux attendent, l’artiste Baptiste Grison pose un regard sur ce qu’il appelle une anomalie dans le paysage marin du fleuve Saint-Laurent. À quelques kilomètres de la rive, à la hauteur de Trois-Pistoles et des Escoumins, se trouve ce stationnement réservé aux grands navires marchands, venus des quatre coins du monde. Ils arrivent dans la nuit et disparaissent aussi mystérieusement qu’ils sont apparus…

Photographiés à travers l’oculaire de sa lunette d’observation, les grands bateaux en attente d’une place au port sont captés par l’œil de Baptiste Grison. Le procédé photographique rudimentaire donne un effet embrouillé aux images et augmente le caractère énigmatique de ces apparitions au milieu du fleuve.

Est-ce un rêve? Le bateau semble voler dans les airs. L’horizon, le ciel et l’eau se fondent et se dérobent pour tromper notre vue.

Baptiste Grison

Biographie

Baptiste Grison vit et travaille tout près du fleuve, dans la région du Bas-Saint-Laurent. Au gré de ses déambulations, le photographe entretient un rapport dynamique avec le paysage : « Le paysage, c’est une expérience d’un lieu […], c’est quelque chose qu’on doit vivre ».

Il détient une maîtrise en arts visuels de l’Université Laval ainsi qu’un diplôme de premier cycle en histoire de l’art de l’Université de Rennes II – Haute-Bretagne (France). Actif depuis la fin des années 1990, l’artiste signe plusieurs expositions solos et collectives, tant en France qu’au Québec. Ses œuvres sont aussi présentées dans différentes publications et dans des catalogues d’exposition, notamment son livre d’artiste Fatima (2017). Sa pratique l’amène également à être commissaire invité pour diverses expositions, comme pour le projet Rencontre photographique du Kamouraska, de 2013 à 2015.

Démarche artistique

Un regard actif

Baptiste Grison s’intéresse à des lieux qui l’intriguent. Des lieux parfois en apparence banals, mais qui, pour lui, revêtent un caractère singulier. Tantôt, une frontière virtuelle au milieu du fleuve qui sert de lieu d’attente pour les bateaux cargos (Les Grands bateaux attendent). Ici, un parc national voué à la conservation de plus en plus investi par les touristes (Citadelle). Là, une réserve autochtone au milieu d’un territoire forestier sans cours d’eau, n’ayant jamais réellement été occupée par les Premiers Peuples, mais qui, sur les cartes, est toujours désignée comme une réserve (Les Barricades mystérieuses).

Expérimentant avec le médium de la photographie, il arpente les lieux à la manière du géographe et à travers une pratique consciente de la marche. Progressivement, il apprivoise ce qu’il voit et s’imprègne des espaces. Ces attentives observations font jaillir en lui un narratif, qu’il raconte à travers les nombreux clichés qu’il prend.

Ainsi, Baptiste Grison aime travailler la série, car pour lui, une image seule ne vaut pas mille mots. C’est la combinaison ou la confrontation des différentes photographies qui construit une histoire.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart